HOLY WEEK (LENT 2024) – DAY 37 – Dealing with “severe critics”

As I’ve been reflecting upon the attempts by the Jewish religious leaders of Jesus’ day who were trying to trap Him with their questions, I am reminded of seemingly “well-meaning” Christian critics who question aspects and elements of the faith today – in particular of the Christians they disagree with.

Many of them are extremely well-versed in the Scriptures. Some of them have seminary degrees. I find many of the so-called “discernment ministries”, despite the many helpful things they are doing, end up falling far too often into being “severe critics”.

Jesus was dealing with just these types of religious leaders in His day and especially during Holy Week as He was daily in the Temple teaching.

Jesus KNEW what was in their hearts. He was the one with the actual “discernment ministry”!

What exactly is a “severe critic”? I am sure one can find a better technical definition, but for me, they are people who have no genuine interest in hearing/considering an alternative theological viewpoint. Their minds are made up. They are stuck in their biases/preconceived ideas.

I find many of these types in the anti-Charismatic camp. While they rightly point out some of the extremes and excesses that are all-too-common in Charismatic Christian circles (Note: I am one of them and I completely agree that there are multiple false teachings and dangerous practices in my camp).

But here is where a balanced critic/voice becomes a “severe critic” – they know ALL the New Testament Scriptures and cite them effortlessly and at will when a miracle and/or a healing didn’t take place but are not nearly as quick to point out the far greater number of passages where Jesus and/or the Apostles ended up healing everyone.

When presented evidence of a healing (even a medically documented one), they won’t give glory to God but actually are still looking for another reasonable explanation.

What they are demonstrating is UNBELIEF. And that is something the Bible calls sin!

It isn’t somehow “cool” to be skeptical when our skepticism is unbelief and therefore sin!

For years, I prided myself in being one of those who claimed they were “open but cautious” – but in reality, it was my lack of experience and unbelief that was really behind my ‘cool skepticism’.

Only God knows the motivations of our hearts and Jesus KNEW the motivations of the “severe critics” that He faced.

The “severe critics” within the Church aren’t going away. In fact, I think they may be on the rise. I’ve watched a whole new army of them arise – you find their channels/programs online. They have thousands of followers. (some into the hundreds of thousands).

May the Lord show us HOW to deal with them. I used to waste a lot of time debating with them – some were Christians, but for years, I would interact with Muslim “severe critics” who really had no interest in learning what the Christian faith was about – all they wanted to do was to level critique after critique.

Like Jesus, we need to know when we are dealing with someone who to use His language “has no ears to hear”.

Time is short and the hungry and open are all around us. May we steward our time. May we focus our energy on those who have open hearts and “ears to hear”.

Being that this is a US Presidential election year, there will also be many we encounter who are ‘programmed’ already in their opinions. I know that in the past, I tried to reason with people but it didn’t matter what evidence I presented, their minds were made up. I have committed this time to NOT give such people the time I gave them in the past. I will pray for them as their problem is more spiritual than simply one of correct information.

For such a time as this…

Leave a comment