LENT 2024 – DAY 8 – Energy Levels During Fasting

Today should have been more challenging. I was up at 4:30AM and spent my morning skiing. I expended a lot of energy skiing hard for 3 1/2 hours. And then we had an event tonight. Even now, as it is nearly 10PM at night, I feel great. No rest today either.

Where does the energy come from when we fast? It comes from our bodies shifting to getting its energy from the food we are eating, to getting its energy from burning our body fat. And when we are eating food there is far more limited supply of caloric energy than when our body is consuming our body fat where there is a far greater supply.

It seems like I should be exhausted, and yet I am not. It seems like I should be hungry, but I’m not. This is the beauty of being in a state known as Ketosis which is when we are burning our body is burning fat for energy rather than glucose (from carbs).

It was another great day – I was able to get some great times of prayer while I was driving. There were other opportunties to minister to people and even to pray for you young woman battling breast cancer.

Leave a comment