LENT 2024 – DAY 12 – Today I was pushed to my limit

Normally, I am full of energy and able to do whatever I want, including working out/training. I haven’t taken a single nap since Lent began either!

Why? Because while fasting, the body is burning body fat for energy and doesn’t need food for energy.

Today however was tough – I was skiing hard this morning and I noticed I had to stop and rest about 1/2 way down the runs I was skiing. It was unusual for me to experience this. Last season I never faced this problem although I was often fasting when I went skiing. I noticed that I may be coming down with something that could be an explanation for what I faced this morning.

So after I skied for about 3 hours, I stopped to get a sugar-free Protein Drink with 26 grams of protein.

I kept skiing after that for a couple more hours and had no problems after that. Was it the protein? Most likely, but like I said, I think I also might be fighting something.

I guess I will need to adjust things a bit on days when I am doing something as strenuous as today by supplementing with some protein. I also had gone hiking a few months ago and attempted to climb a mountain fasted. It ended up being one of the hardest climbs I have ever done. Needless to say, I ate some beef jerky on the summit that day to empower me to get back down. It worked.

Fasting will reveal things – and today, my revelation was that I discovered a possible limitation. Lesson learned. Tomorrow’s ski day begins with another protein drink!

For such a time as this…

Leave a comment