LENT 2024 – DAY 1 – Let the Games Begin

Day 1 of the 40-day fast. Week one is a bit merciful – the fast begins today (Wednesday) and then it is broken on Sunday after 4 days of fasting. Week 2 is when the heavier lifting begins with 6 days of fasting before breaking it on Sunday.

At dinner last night (my last meal) with a pastor friend of mine and his wife, we talked about expectations during Lent. He also observes the Lenten fast.

Here our some of my thoughts about expectations and perspective on Day 1 of a 40-Day fast.

  1. It is a long haul. It is a SEASON. And my lifestyle shifts radically from today. This fast will continue until March 31st. This means it is also a discipline. It isn’t a perpetual spiritual high as some expect during fasting.
  2. My spiritual expectations are to hear more clearly from the Lord during this season, but also to be strengthened spiritually in areas of my life that the Lord has revealed need attention.
  3. I am looking towards a reboot with my eating, my fitness and for the Lord to reenforce a lifestyle going forward that will be conducive to being healthier and leaner than I currently am.
  4. I am committed to pray more. This is and should be a no-brainer, but when one is doing something for 40+ days it is challenging to remain a place of sustained prayer. Not all days are going to be as well invested/spent as others. I am a realist.
  5. I am joining millions of others who are also stepping into a penitential season of fasting, of self-reflection. And that is encouraging to know that this has been the case for nearly 2000 years of Church History.

Let the Games Begin…

For such a time as this.

Leave a comment